would love to see a way to clean the player database and or restore config files from original.
Could try doing the Reinstall function. That can reset some things for you. Otherwise you'd likely have to delete and reload the game from scratch.
If you go that route I'd recommend doing a backup for the version you want to keep on hand to reload later if needed.