Server has vanished from list

This thread is marked as resolved, please create a new thread.
  • Hey, I've put in 2 tickets so far, about 2 hours ago. My server, Aussie Vikings (PVE Oceania) vanished off the server list some time today. I've had all my regular players message me asking what's going on. I've tried restarting it and changing stats back to basic unboosted stats AND recharging my credit (it did have 5 days left, now it's 35 days and still nothing, wasted money.). I don't want to have to wipe the server as I have 20+ regular players who have worked very hard on their creations... On g-portal it is saying the server is up and running, online and everything but it still isn't showing up on the list in game for people to join. Please help ASAP I've got a hoard of angry regulars out to get me X/

• Hello all,

PC Expert requested, well I'm not really an expert imho, but I have been working on PC and tech support for 20+ years, so think I'm close.....

Anyhooo....

One thing everyone needs to remember with Server Rentals. There are 2 servers involved no matter who you rent from. Both of those servers will need to connect to each other in order for you to play your game.

(btw this is going to be a REALLY lengthy explanation since it kinda got asked for, so get ready. get some snacks and drinks and enjoy this read. Oh, and this not meant to be snarky or insulting, this is to get information out to people about how things like this works)

So a company releases their game. They have their own servers. These are typically called 'Official Servers' These are the servers EVERYONE plays in and have 0 say in how they are run and managed, since the developer does all of this for the players. So then you're only dealing with connecting to the company's server.